Woman in the Shadows

Buy Now

Woman in the Shadows

Clara Vine, #2

“Woman in the Shadows” by Jane Thynne is the third book in the Clara Vine Series that I have read. Jane Thynne has become one of my very favorite authors. Not only is her subject matter one that I love to read about, but her style of writing keeps me coming back for more. I am so glad that she is expanding this series to five books. I delight in reading about prominent characters who were engaged in the pre-World War II cat and mouse games of espionage. I can picture myself in Berlin along with Clara, so vividly does Ms. Thynne describe the surroundings. I feel the intrigue, the helplessness, the terror that must have been part of most persons’ lives during this time in Germany. I fear for Clara as she does her duty for the Crown and possibly provides information that will someday save many lives.

Clara Vine is a young woman, part English, part Jewish German. Her very existence is in peril as long as she lives in Berlin and hobnobs with the Reich’s top echelon. She must watch every word, every nuance, every look, and every movement, to make sure she does not give herself away. As an actress, is she acting the part in her own life, or just when she is around the Nazi hierarchy? Whom can she trust? Whom can she talk to? Who knows the truths?

In England, the titles of Ms. Thynne’s books are different from those offered in the United States. For instance, this same book I am reviewing has the title, “The Winter Garden” in the U.K. This may be confusing for some, but I have researched the books and am aware of the differences. I highly recommend this series and I will continue to read all that Ms. Thynne writes.


Book Blurb for Woman in the Shadows

Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Jacqueline Winspear’s Journey to Munich, here is the next exciting historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the actress and British spy in prewar Germany who maneuvers through the treacherous Nazi society gathering intelligence—and discovering a deadly secret.

Berlin, 1937. Clara Vine’s star is on the rise. The British-born, half-German actress is about to take her first leading role in a movie produced by the Nazis’ official film studio. Even as she moves through the upper echelons of the Third Reich, Clara never stops acting. At cocktail parties hosted by Joseph and Magda Goebbels, she collects key information for Britain, risking her life for the cause. But soon it is another young woman’s life, and its abrupt end, that draws her attention. Clara knew Anna Hansen as a dancer and artist’s model in the heady days of the cabaret scene. But Anna left that all behind when she became engaged to an SS officer. Attending one of Hitler’s notorious Bride Schools, she was being groomed as the perfect Nazi wife. When she is found murdered on the school grounds, her death is hushed up, one casualty among many in the lead-up to war. But Clara cannot fathom why Anna’s death would be concealed. Was it simply an embarrassment to the regime, or did Anna know something that hastened her demise? Clara must tread carefully to unravel the truth—for the Gestapo is one step behind.


Night Owl Reviews Jan, 2017 5.00