In the Bag

Buy Now

In the Bag

A Celeste Eagan Mystery, #2

Emery Harper once again delights readers with the adventures and antics of Celeste Eagan in the second book in this cozy mystery series. Celeste is an engaging character. I love her mixture of confidence and awkwardness. Watching her practically bulldoze her way into yet another police investigation is a treat and then her absolute inability to not act like an infatuated teenager in front of her beau and the detective on the case kept me rapidly flipping pages. Seeing how much to heart she takes her best friend’s troubles endears her to me. She fascinated me with her social awkwardness and her determination. I enjoyed the interactions between her and her family and friends as it reveals pieces of her personality as well as theirs.

Detective Shawn Muldoon is as intriguing as he was in the first story. He is a man of mystery and yet still amazingly attractive to both Celeste and myself, I’m not embarrassed to admit. It was great seeing her best friend Levi again and watching him handle everything that has been thrown at him. But my favorite character is Celeste's daughter. She just warms my heart. If you are looking for an interesting mystery with fascinating players this is one you've got to read. If you haven't read the first one in the series I suggest you read it too.

The Story: Celeste Eagan can't believe she has once again landed smack dab in the center of a murder investigation. But what can she do when her best friend is the main suspect? So she jumps headlong into trouble in the hopes of solving the who done it. She hopes her sort of boyfriend the detective will forgive her.


Book Blurb for In the Bag

Amateur sleuth Celeste Eagan is heading directly for more mishaps in In the Bag, perfect for fans of JB Lynn's Neurotic Hitwoman series 

Life as the principal actress at the Peytonville Playhouse is all I ever thought it'd be—and more. I'm practically living the bohemian dream, until my BFF Levi finds a dead body on his property. And is swiftly arrested for murder. 

Detective Shaw Muldoon is my almost-but-not-quite-there-yet beau. He knows me. He knows Levi. He knows neither of us is capable of something so heinous. And he knows that despite his strict orders to leave the case with the professionals, I'll launch my own investigation to clear Levi's name.  

One more gruesome murder: check. 

A dubious bakery owner who's taken a fancy to me: check. 

This season's "it" handbag practically falling into my lap: check. 

Levi's up the creek if I don't uncover the truth…but my investigation has put me firmly in the murderer's sights. 

Life in danger: check.


Night Owl Reviews Jan, 2017 4.50